Congratulations High School Artists!

HS Art Banner


FEATURING 131 ARTISTS from 17 school groups across Central Minnesota,

Visual Arts Minnesota presents the 37th Annual High School Art Exhibition Opening Reception and Award Ceremony, April 10th, from 6-8pm at the Paramount Center for the Arts, in Downtown St. Cloud, Minnesota. Student awards will be presented during the reception, which is free and open to the public.

This year we increased the award amounts from $100 to $150 in each category. There are also 3 Best of Show awards sponsored by American Association of University Women, The St. Cloud Friends of the MIA, and the Central MN Watercolorists.


Juror Mentor, Bill Gorcica is a professor of Art at St. Cloud State University where he teaches in the Integrated Media and Graphic Design areas. He has a bachelor¹s degree in biology from Virginia Tech and a Master of Fine Arts degree from Rutgers University. Over the course of his career Bill received a number of honors including a Fulbright scholarship to work in printmaking in Poland, and an artist fellowship at the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture. He has created an interactive work collaboratively for the Twin Cities Northern Spark festival in June 2015. For Northern Spark 2016, Bill worked with colleagues in science and engineering to create simRVR, a VR movie that was juried and showcased at the Sundance Film Festival New Frontiers program and at the Walker Art Center. The artist also continues to work on an educational software project entitled SimRiver with Dr. Shigeki Mayama in Tokyo, Japan that addresses water quality issues by studying microbial populations. In June 2017 Bill will be having a solo exhibition in the Gallery St. Germain in downtown St. Cloud entitled “InterConnect” where he will present works he has created during a 2015 Minnesota State Arts Board Artist Initiative Grant.

Student Jurors, Maria Thompson and Jonathan Dorf are Senior Art Students at St. Cloud State University.

Congratulations to the following students

for demonstrating maturity and talent in the arts!

Best of Show (Sponsored by the St. Cloud Friends of MIA)
Caitlynn Bush, Can’t Feel The Burn

Ellingson Award (Sponsored by the American Association of University Women)
Rachel Wright, Covered in Emotion

Best of Category (Sponsored by the Central Minnesota Watercolorists)
Jacqui Miller, Landscape

Honorable Mentions
Farwah Tariq, Freedom on Strings
Abbey Kilger, Conspicio
Austin Fiedler, Reaching Through Time


  • Kyle Bouten, Inner Workings
  • Cassandra Schmitz, Emerging Dragon
  • Brenden Bellinger, The Motor Plane


  1. Lucy Reitz, Drew
  2. Kirsten Hirst, Secret Garden Typeface
  3. Mya Reinert, Fresh Snow Wolf


  1. Julia Abfalter, Meet Me At Midnight
  2. Jennifer Lee, Ophthalmophobia: Self Portrait
  3. Madelyn Schmidt, Monopoly


  1. Samantha Potts, Dog
  2. Heidi Schmitz, Light Dream
  3. Hunter Branson, Untitled


  1. Molly Meyer, Hills Have Eyes
  2. Tayler Kalthoff, Retrospection
  3. Ziyan Zhou, The Mountain Man

Ceramics (Sponsored by Susan Beyer, Crowded House Pottery)

  1. Katie Reeves, Under The Sea
  2. Sophia Madore, The Ripple Effect
  3. Katie Merwin, Dead Rose


  1. Jordyn Tomaszewski, Lured Into Morning
  2. Caitlin Popp, Barnes in Greys
  3. Tanner Molitor, My View From The Sihlo


  1. Ava Kramer, Concealed Beauty
  2. Annica Carr, Turquoise Pendant
  3. MaCartney Ascheman, Rose Quartz and Sterling Silver Ring

This exhibit is made possible with funding from community members, businesses and artists who believe in supporting young artists in their creative endeavors.

This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through grants from the Minnesota State Arts Board and the Central MN Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.

HS Art Sponsors

Comments are closed.